Archive for May 24th, 2006




MY WORLD OF BOOKS

I am very much a product my past under a government that wanted nothing of me and my people but to be hewers of wood and drawers of water.This enviroment sought to restrict what I could read both in terms of quatity and quality.

The first time I found myself in a library was at college when I was reading for my teaching diploma.By then my passion for reading was at its peak and I read every reading matter I could lay my hands.There was never enough to read,that is until that fateful day when I entered a library for the first time.

I had never seen so many books in my life.I there and then set myself the target of reading all of them in a few months` time,or so I thought.A month or so down the line I had barely scratched the surface and abandoned the mission – moreso as there were also my studies and student politcal work to be accomodated as well.

Prior to my arrival at college I had to rely on whatever I could lay my hands on – thrillers,comics,magazines and newspapers.What I found inexplicable at that time was that there were books by black people.

But then were living under the then apartheid regime which did allow our minds to be poisoned by communism and some such evil philosophies.

From college to the time I started teaching books became my best of friends and became priority items in my budget.I had also started to write poetry and propose.Some of my poems have been published here and there.All else is in draft awaiting the time I will have more time to refine them for possible publication.

I hope this day arrive sooner rather than later.

Will I ever have that time?I can hardly have time to settle down with a book and see it to the finish.Of late the bulk of my reading and writing is of a technical nature for work purposes and newspapers which I only scan for that odd article that appeals to my fancy and can be accomodated in my forever tight schedule.

Add a comment May 24, 2006

Pages

Categories

Links

Meta

Calendar

May 2006
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Posts by Month

Posts by Category